Colleges and Universities Covered by the Free Tuition Fee Law | Edukasyon.ph

Colleges and Universities Covered by the Free Tuition Fee Law

Starting the school year 2018 – 2019, 112 state universities and colleges (SUCs) and 78 local universities across the Philippines will be covered by the Zero Tuition Fee Law that will provide college students with free access to tertiary education.

The Zero Tuition Fee Law is under the Republic Act No. 10931 or the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act signed into law on August 3, 2017. It hopes to help all Filipino students by providing free tuition and other school fees in SUCs and local universities as well as other Technical-Vocational schools that are run by the national government. This is also in line with the strengthening of the Unified Student Financial Assistance System for Tertiary Education that includes scholarships, student loans, grants-in-aid, and other forms of Student Financial programs.

In the recent list by the Department of Budget and Management, there are 8 SUCs in Metro Manila, 49 in the rest of Luzon, 26 in Visayas, and 31 in Mindanao.

Here are some of the schools per region that are covered by the Free Tuition Fee Law. To know more details about these state colleges and universities, visit their profile pages on Edukasyon.ph and apply to a school that interests you.

National Capital Region

Region I – Ilocos Region

Cordillera Administrative Region

Region II – Cagayan Valley

Region III – Central Luzon



Region V – Bicol Region

Region VI – Western Visayas

Region VII – Central Visayas

Region VIII – Eastern Visayas

Region IX – Zamboanga Peninsula

Region X – Northern Mindanao

Region XI – Davao Region

  • Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology
  • Southern Philippines Agri-Business and Marine and Aquatic School of Technology
  • University of Southern Philippines
  • Kapalong College of Agriculture, Sciences and Technology (KCAST)
  • Governor Generoso College of Arts, Sciences and Technology (GGCAST)


Region XIII – Caraga Administrative Region

  • Agusan del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology
  • Caraga State University (Northern Mindanao State Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Surigao del Sur State University
  • Surigao State College of Technology
  • Hinatuan Southern College